

Special Education Advisory Council

Ms. Martha Guinan, *Chair* Ms. Dale Matsuura, *Vice Chair* Dr. Patricia Sheehey, *Vice Chair* Ms. Ivalee Sinclair, *Vice Chair*

Ms. Brendelyn Ancheta Ms. Deborah Cheeseman Ms. Annette Cooper Mr. Motu Finau Ms. Gabriele Finn Mr. Sage Goto Dr. Kurt Humphrey Ms. Bernadette Lane Ms. Kaili Murbach Ms. Stacey Oshio Ms. Kau'i Rezentes Ms. Charlene Robles Ms. Rosie Rowe Mr. Daniel Santos Mr. James Street Dr. Todd Takahashi Dr. Daniel Ulrich Mr. Steven Vannatta Mr. Gavin Villar Dr. Amy Wiech Ms. Jasmine Williams Ms. Susan Wood

Dr. Robert Campbell, *liaison* to the military Dr. Christina Tydeman, *liaison* to the Superintendent

Amanda Kaahanui, Staff Susan Rocco, Staff

S E A C Special Education Advisory Council 1010 Richard Street, #118, Honolulu, HI 96813 Phone: 586-8126 Fax: 586-8129 email: seac.hawaii@gmail.com

January 31, 2018

Senator Michelle N. Kidani, Chair Committee on Education Hawaii State Capitol Honolulu, HI 96813

RE: S.B. 2521 - RELATING TO SPECIAL EDUCATION

Dear Chair Kidani and Members of the Committee,

The Special Education Advisory Council (SEAC), Hawaii's State Advisory Panel under the Individuals with Disabilities Education Act (IDEA), strongly supports S.B. 2521 which provides funds to special education classroom teachers to spend toward instructional materials and equipment to meet their students' unique instructional needs.

A number of teacher surveys have highlighted the need for additional adaptive curricula, assistive technology and specialized equipment to enable special education students to access their individualized instruction. The monies for these additional supports are often not included in the school budget, and many special education teachers spend their own funds to support their students. The flexibility to purchase additional instructional materials and equipment is sorely needed in order for students with disabilities to access learning opportunities, make meaningful academic gains, and thus reduce the huge achievement gap between special education and non-special education students.

Thank you for this opportunity to provide our testimony. If you have further questions, please feel free to contact us.

)

Respectfully,

Jene Sinclair

Ivalee Sinclaïr Legislative Committee Chair

Mandated by the Individuals with Disabilities Education Act