

Special Education **Advisory Council**

Ms. Martha Guinan, Chair Ms. Dale Matsuura, Vice Chair Dr. Patricia Sheehey, Vice Chair Ms. Ivalee Sinclair, Vice Chair

Ms. Brendelyn Ancheta Dr. Robert Campbell, liaison to the military Ms. Deborah Cheeseman Ms. Annette Cooper Ms. Gabriele Finn Mr. Sage Goto Ms. Cathy Kahoohanohano Ms. Bernadette Lane Ms. Kaili Murbach Ms. Stacey Oshio Ms. Kau'i Rezentes Ms. Charlene Robles Ms. Rosie Rowe Mr. Daniel Santos Mr. James Street Dr. Todd Takahashi Dr. Christine Tydeman, liaison to the Superintendent Mr. Steven Vannatta Mr. Gavin Villar Dr. Amy Wiech Ms. Jasmine Williams Ms. Susan Wood

Amanda Kaahanui, Staff Susan Rocco, Staff

SEAC Special Education Advisory Council 1010 Richard Street, Room 118 Honolulu, HI 96813 Phone: 586-8126 Fax: 586-8129 email: spin@doh.hawaii.gov February 27, 2018

Senator Brian T. Taniguchi, Chair Committee on Judiciary Hawaii State Capitol Honolulu, HI 96813

RE: S.B. 2650, S.D. 1 - RELATING TO MOVIE THEATERS

Dear Chair Taniguchi and Members of the Committee,

The Special Education Advisory Council (SEAC), Hawaii's State Advisory Panel under the Individuals with Disabilities Education Act (IDEA), strongly supports the intent of S.B. 2650, S.D. 1 that makes permanent the requirement for certain movie theaters to provide open movie captioning at least twice a week.

SEAC is a strong advocate for inclusive practices in school and in the community. It is well documented that open captioning provides a preferred access to the movie-going experience for students who are deaf and students who are English learners. Students with learning disabilities, attention deficit hyperactivity disorder, or other cognitive disabilities also benefit from the open captions supplementing the audio. Research has further shown that the majority of the movie audiences adapt easily to the captions and find the captions beneficial by supplementing the audio when dialogue is missed due to poor sound quality or due to audience noises.

Thank you for the opportunity to provide testimony on this important legislation. If you have questions or concerns, please contact us.

)

Sincerely. Maily Martha Guinan Chair

Jennie Sinclair Ivalee Sinclair Legislative Committee Chair